‘winter’s Bone’ Author Daniel Woodrell Talks Jennifer Lawrence, New Book

I wrote a Civil War novel, also. I do enough research to feel like I can wear the clothes and be there, but I don’t insist on knowing every single little thing–this is how they made butter, or whatever. I really wanted a sense of the people of the time, and sometimes that’s the bigger challenge. In fact, I was reading newspaper front pages from the 1930s, and I was taken aback. I’m not naive about American history, but I was a bit knocked off my feet by things that used to be on the front pages of newspapers. Bookish: What were some of the stories? DW: They would go into greater detail about love-nest murders and things like that, but they would also rather casually cover race crimes and stuff. I saw one the other day, and I told my wife, “This is 1935, and it says, ‘Black man allegedly slapped a white woman. Five men went over in broad daylight and killed him. No charges filed.'” BOOKISH: Dexter’s bookshelf: What a serial killer reads Bookish: How involved were you in the making of the movie Winter’s Bone? DW: Very little.

learn here http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/books/2013/09/25/woodrell-author-interview/2868603/

Leave a comment